There is a rich history of this property that dates back to the initial owner of Lafayette Mace in the mid 1850’s. What started as a ranch at that time, became the site for one of the largest Ice Houses on the west coast, and over the years produced one of the most prosperous timber mills in the Sierra Foothills.
In 1962, after purchasing the land from Benjamin Mace, Louis Fuentes began working on a subdivision called Mace Meadows estates and in 1969 began working on the golf course. It took several years to clear the land of the trees and stumps. He hired Jack Fleming, a golf course designer of more than 15 golf courses throughout northern California to finalize the layout, developing the greens and the planting of the course.
In 1972, the golf course opened as a 9 hole course and then later in 1982 expanded to the current layout of 18 holes. The rich history has been chronicled in the following publication:
“History of Mace Meadows Golf Course”
Architects: Click here to view.
Mace Meadows History Booklet: Click here to view.
Map of the course: Click here to view.